Mobile   |   Next Course   |  Contact Us   +1 206–203–3575

Akao Prize

In 1996, Dr. Yoji Akao, co-founder of QFD, convinced that the substantial evolution and contribution of QFD world wide merited recognition of those who had made it possible, agreed to the creation of a Prize in his honor.

image of Akao PrizeThe Akao Prize is now awarded to individuals around the world who have demonstrated excellence in their practice and dissemination of QFD for many years.

Taken into consideration are high level research, innovation, excellence in practical applications, teaching, authorship, and continual skills upgrading through QFD Certificates training, as well as notable personal commitment and service to the international QFD community, including leadership in international collaborations and research activities pertaining to QFD and presentations at the International Symposium on QFD.

Selection follows the model of the Deming Prize, whereby candidates are proposed by a committee of Dr. Akao, the Executive Director of the QFD Institute, and past Prize recipients. The Akao Prize is presented by Dr. Akao and the Executive Director of the QFD Institute annually at the International Symposium on QFD.

Year Recipients
2016 Kim Stansfield, Ph.D. (United Kingdom)
2015 Dennis J. Frankos (USA)
2014 Jaroslav Machan, Ph.D. (Czech Republic)
2013 Sixten Schockert, Dipl. Wirt.-Inf. (Germany)
Yoshimichi Watanabe, Ph.D. (Japan)
2011 Jutta Saatweber, Dipl.-Ing (Germany)
2010 Carey W. Hepler (USA)
2009 Wolfram Pietsch, Ph.D. (Germany)
2008 Akira Takayanagi (Japan)
2007 Thomas Saaty, Ph.D. (USA)
2006 Verónica González Bosch (Mexico)
Toshiyuki Mochimoto, Ph.D. (Japan)
2005 Fatih Yenginol, Ph.D. (Turkey)
Yasuhisa Tsuda, Ph.D. (Japan)
2004 Koji Tanaka (Japan)
2003 Harold Ross (USA)
Tomoyoshi Naoi, Ph.D. (Japan)
2002 Atsushi Ootaki, Ph.D (Japan)
Robert A. Hunt, Ph.D. (Australia)
Ian A. Ferguson (UK)
2001 Noriharu Kaneko (Japan)
Akashi Fukuhara (Japan)
Satoshi "Cha" Nakui (Japan)
Thomas Fehlmann, Ph.D. (Switzerland)
2000 Kozo Koura, Ph.D. (Japan)
Georg Herzwurm, Ph.D. (Germany)
Dilworth Lyman (USA)
1999 Michiteru Ono (Japan)
Anders Gustafsson, Ph.D. (Sweden)
John Terninko, Ph.D. (USA)
Jack ReVelle, Ph.D. (USA)
1998 Bo Bergman, Ph.D. (Sweden)
Glenn H. Mazur (USA)
Tadashi Ohfuji (Japan)
Richard E. Zultner (USA)
1997 Robert M. Adams (USA)
Don Clausing, Ph.D. (USA)
Alberto Galgano (Itlay)
Hisakazu Shindo, Ph.D. (Japan)
1996 Bob King (USA)
Larry Sullivan (USA)
Tadashi Yoshizawa, Ph.D. (Japan)

Seach published papers by the Akao Prize recipients (use Control Key + F).

The Akao Prize is administered by the QFD Institute, per Dr. Akao's request.